Crews announced for 10th Parliamentary Boat Race

The Captains of the House of Commons and House of Lords boats have selected their crews to race in the 10th annual Parliamentary Boat Race.

The charity event, supported by ISPS, is taking place on 14th September in front of the House of Lords and as well as the final race between the two Houses of Parliament, features youth, men’s, and women’s races plus an adaptive rowing display from London Youth Rowing.

The Commons leads the Lords by five victories to four, and both crews are looking to be the first to lift the newly-named Robin Hulf memorial cup.

Lords’ Captain, Lord Thomas of Gresford, said: “I’m very pleased with our crew. We have many experienced rowers who have raced this stretch of the Thames for us many times before. Experience is very much on our side and I anticipate a competitive race.”

The Commons are captained by Hendon MP Matthew Offord. Announcing the Commons crew he said, “we have a good balance of experience and enthusiastic novices. Sir Edward Leigh’s river knowledge and Toby Perkins’ strength and long levers put us in confident mood.”

The Crews

House of Commons

Chris Bryant MP (L, Rhondda)
Karl McCartney MP (C, Lincoln)
Alan Foster (APPRG Hon Life Member)
Sir Edward Leigh MP (C, Gainsborough)
Gavin Newlands MP (SNP, Paisley & Renfrewshire North)
Dr Matthew Offord MP (C, Hendon)
Toby Perkins MP (L, Chesterfield)
John Stevenson MP (C, Carlisle)

House of Lords

Lord Thomas of Gresford OBE QC (LD)
Lord Paddick (LD)
Lord Addington (LD)
Lord St John of Bletso (CB)
Lord Windlesham (Non-Member)
Lord Robathan (C)
Lord Faulks QC (C)
Lord Bilimoria CBE DL (CB)