All-Party Parliamentary Group for Rowing reformed in new Parliament

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Rowing held its inaugural meeting of the new Parliament last night (11 July), electing Officers and welcoming new Members.

The meeting was the first time the Group met since before the General Election and means the Group can continue its work to support the sport of rowing.

The following Officers were elected:

Co-Chair and Registered Contact: Dr Matthew Offord MP
Co-Chair: Lord Thomas of Gresford
Co-Chair: Sir Edward Leigh MP
Co-Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Co-Chair: Lord Paddick
Co-Chair: Rebecca Pow MP
Co-Chair: Angus MacNeill MP
Secretary: Jim Fitzpatrick MP

MR Sport were retained as Secretariat to the Group.

Speaking after the meeting, Co-Chair and Member of Parliament for Hendon, Matthew Offord MP, said “I am delighted that the Group has been reformed and look forward to continuing to support rowing in Parliament. The sport has enjoyed some considerable successes in recent years, but there is more to be done to promote greater opportunities for all to row, and the Group will do all it can to support the continued growth of the sport.”

Co-Chair Lord Thomas of Gresford added “the Group brings together Members of the House of Commons and House of Lords, as well as associate members from across the world of rowing, to promote the sport in Westminster, Whitehall and beyond. I am pleased to be be re-elected as a Co-Chair and look forward to welcoming new MPs to the Group, and seeing our non-Parliamentary members soon.”