All-Party Parliamentary Group for Rowing elects Officers for 2018/19

Last night (11 September) the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Rowing held its annual general meeting and elected Officers for 2018/19.

The Group, which comprises Members of the House of Commons and House of Lords, seeks to support and promote the good work that is done in rowing at all levels. It meets regularly while Parliament is sitting to hear from speakers from across the sport.

The following Officers were elected for 2018/19:
Co-Chair and Registered Contact: Dr Matthew Offord MP (Hendon)
Co-Chair: Lord Thomas of Gresford
Co-Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Worthing West)
Co-Chair: Sir Edward Leigh MP (Gainsborough)
Co-Chair: Lord Paddick
Co-Chair: Rebecca Pow MP (Taunton and Deane)
Co-Chair: Angus MacNeil MP (Na h-Eileanan an Iar)
Secretary: Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Poplar and Limehouse)

MR Sport were retained as Secretariat.

Speaking after the meeting, Group Co-Chair and Member of Parliament for Hendon, Dr Matthew Offord MP, said “I am delighted to be re-elected as Co-Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Rowing, which will continue to promote the sport in Westminster, our local communities, and across the United Kingdom.

“As we look towards Tokyo 2020 and beyond, the Group has an important role to play in helping to secure a bright future for rowing, and will continue to provide a strong voice for the sport in Parliament.”

Co-Chair Lord Thomas of Gresford added “rowing is a fantastic sport for all, that can have huge health and social benefits for those involved.

“I look forward to continuing to support the sport by working with other Members, as well as honorary and associate members from across the world of rowing.”